ADVERTISEMENT

Where were you watching when Latener hit that shot?

In my living room at home. I was a sophomore in high school. I thought we had that game won until Ralph Hacker declared that Sean Woods had won the game with that running leaner. I immediately got a sick feeling about what was to come. And then..............

Driving down the road to a party. I walked out of a bar with how ever many seconds were left after Woods hit his shot. Get to the party and everyone is talking about how we lost. I thought they were screwing with me until sportscenter came on and I saw it.

I was an instructor in the Navy, at home hosting a class party. The excitement of the Woods basket was quickly extinguished by the worst moment I have experienced in my sports lifetime.

TGIF on Linn Station road in Louisville. Place went from a resounding roar to tab paying and exiting. Tips suffered there at the end.

Watched it on a small tv just outside my crummy rent control apt. in Santa Monica.

I was watching it on a small hand-held TV at the HS state tournament, that year, being held in Freedom Hall.

I was delivering pizzas for Pizza Hut in the Middletown/Hurstbourne area. Listened to most of the game on the radio - but got to this one house just before Sean hit that shot. At the door, I asked how the game was going; they invited me in to watch the last few minutes. HUGE UK fan party going on there. I watched it happen with these strangers - and stood there in shock when Laettner's shot went down. Cried all the way back to the store.

I was watching it on a small hand-held TV at the HS state tournament, that year, being held in Freedom Hall.
I was there too, just not when we played Duke. My school got eliminated by Pulaski County that year the night before.