ADVERTISEMENT

Why does the state of Kentucky produce so few NBA players?

mktmaker

Junior
Jun 5, 2001
Atlanta
Yes, I know that Kentucky has a modest population with small metropolitan areas. But that was also the case in the 1960's and 1970's when we sent players to the pro's every couple of years.

When I grew up the state of Kentucky frequently produced players who were successful in the NBA.

I graduated from Kentucky. I left Kentucky before I was 30.

So I do not know Kentucky high school basketball as I once did. [The most recent Kentucky state tournament I saw in person was in 1979 when Lafayette (Dirk Minniefield, et al) won.]

By that time, Kentucky high schools were producing dramatically less elite basketball talent.

(Most of the following -- with the exception of the NBA careers -- is just from memory. So please be gentle with your corrections. I am sure I left out some players.)

(Also, I am noting people from Kentucky who were successful as American professional players.)

I know a lot about earlier greats like Ralph Beard who almost certainly would have had a productive (or great) NBA career. He was better than Bob Cousy, who is in the Hall of Fame.

And Cliff Hagan and Frank Ramsey had impressive (Hall of Fame) NBA careers.

1956 Many of us know about the late (we lost him last year) great King Kelly Coleman.

Kentucky’s first Mr. Basketball. This legendary player might have been the best of them all, but was stubborn and undisciplined.

He was a renegade which hampered/crippled his career. I believe if he were in a situation where he had appropriate guidance and had he matured, that he could have had an all-star NBA career.

1960 Jeff Mullins (Lafayette). 12 years in the NBA. 3-time all-star.

1964 Darel Carrier (Bristow) 5 years in the ABA. 3-time all-star.

1963 Mike Redd, along with Wes Unseld, led Louisville Seneca to the state title. Redd won Mr. Basketball over Clem Haskins of Taylor County.