ADVERTISEMENT

Matt Jones makes playoff pitch

No 3 loss team gets in a 12 team playoff, major borderline 16 team playoff. Would take major ass kissing and UK's demonstrated time and time again they're totally lost at whose ass to kiss.

A 3 loss SEC team could. Hell a undefeated FSU team didn't make the playoffs last year. SEC conference is #1, so 2/3 loss teams will make it. Remember there are only 4 power conferences left and the ACC is rated very weak (FSU getting left out last year). A 3 loss SEC team would get in over a 2 loss ACC team because the team from the SEC will have had a lot more / better quality wins. Yes it can and will happen, maybe not UK, but A SEC team will get in.

I feel like I’ve been saying this for a few years lol. I do think 9-3 would depend on a lot of variables breaking our way. 10-2 way more certain.

9 and 3 is unlikely to get UK in. They would have to be ranked 11th in final playoff poll to make it as the 12th spot goes to the group of 5 cupcake sacrificial lamb team.

It wouldn't have happened in 2018 or 2021 if there had been a 12 team playoff.

I'm all for going 9 and 3 and seeing if this year is different though.

Reactions: Bank Cat
No 3 loss team gets in a 12 team playoff, major borderline 16 team playoff. Would take major ass kissing and UK's demonstrated time and time again they're totally lost at whose ass to kiss.

I can't predict the future or would move to Lexington and become famous betting the horses, bet no one ever said that before. But I think a 3 loss team gets left out too. With the group team getting a bid, all 4 P4 teams getting automatic bid, leaves 7 spots. But reading other boards, 10 teams feel they have a chance at 10 wins and the playoffs.

I think Missouri is probably 6th-7th best team but hit the lottery with their schedule and the only way they are out is making SEC championship and getting 3rd loss, or maybe even 2nd loss. I think they play at Bama and officials will protect Bama who smokes Missouri.