ADVERTISEMENT

Personal Tomato Crop

UK82

All-American
Feb 27, 2015
Weather has been excellent so far for tomatoes in my neck of the woods. Having a banner year. Hopefully it stays the course. Approaching August and I'm just curious if other growers are having similar results.

Last edited:
I've got early and late season tomatoes 🍅 San Marzanos are my favorite. Those went in late because I like them for August and September. As of now though I have mostly small types, Sunset Torch 🍅 also I got Sun Dripper🍅, and Super Sweet 100s. Cherokee Purples are still few weeks out, not canning this summer so if my San Marzanos do good I'll cook them down and make sauce for macaroni and tomatoes.

Getting some good indeterminates. Last year was a struggle for me; but I am new at this. Plenty of cherries. I grow cherries and some dwarfs in a Greenstalk. Been a pretty good year.

Reactions: 55wildcat and UK82
It's been a battle for mine. My big boys are cracking from the rain this summer. I've got one big boy plant that is stunted. I've also been battling early blight but I hope I have it under control.

This year I've trying to use a string trellis and so far so good. They are at about 6 feet so far with 8 feet being the top of the trellis.

The husky cherry is going good if I can just keep the deer out of them.

It's been a fairly mild Summer here in Louisville. Tomatoes grow best in temperatures between 70 and 85 degrees. So far we've only had a handful of days in the 90s but that's about to change beginning with today. I planted mostly heirlooms and have had only mild cracking from the Cherokee Purples. Other than that no blossom end rot which usually is a problem. Of course the critters have helped themselves to a few but that's to be expected.

Reactions: 55wildcat
poster-4-pdm2.jpg