ADVERTISEMENT

Fly Fishing/ Fishing in general Thread

anthonys735

All-American
Gold Member
Jan 29, 2004
2015 USBWA GYERO POY
Really odd we don't have one of these threads. Let's get one rolling. Good place to discuss all things fishing be it stories, techniques, gear, trips, whatever.

I'm really new to Fly Fishing, we have any local pros here? Looking for as much advice, resources, and local fishing(Central Ky).

I really want to get into fly fishing, but it has such an intimidating learning curve. I live in SWVA around some of the best trout fishing in the country. I need to just get out there and do it. Thought about paying a local guide.

Here is a beginners mega-thread from Reddit. Reddit gets clowned a lot on here, but the niche subreddits like the one I linked are a wealth of information.

Last edited:
My fraternity little brothers family used to own the Orvis shop here in town. He was one of the instructors for their classes.

Fly fishing is good in the right setting. I'd rather cast a spinning or bait casting rig if I'm on the lake or most rivers though.

I get the that but I want to learn around here so when I'm some place cool I'm not dealing with the learning curve wasting my time out there. Especially since I've been going to Charleston/Antigua more these days. Both have amazing fly fishing options.

The Orvis store here closed I guess. Only one I could find is in Lou.

Went with a Moonshine pole 9' 5wt and Teton Classic reel to get started. Both made in the US although I think a few of the Moonshine materials come from overseas.

Orvis store got sold about 10-15 years ago. New owners that I didn't know ran it for a while, then shit it down.

• Haha
Reactions: -COUNTRY-CLUB-JOE-
Come up this spring. We'll cast a few in the Little Miami in the morning, ride the bike trail then hit the river again in the late afternoon.

I've only fly fished it twice and only caught 1 smallmouth, but the conditions were shitty. There are a lot of smallies in there.