ADVERTISEMENT

Ellen says goodbye

I’m not trying to play a therapist, but they don’t seem like people overly joyed at a new start in either video. Gives me further reason to think they really thought Arkansas was a bargaining chip. Then again, I suppose I’m not really an expert in how one should present in such an odd situation.

What a weird situation. Probably the weirdest coaching change in college basketball history…”im gonna leave…but I really don’t want to…I’m gonna coach at Arkansas…but I really don’t want to….im gonna wear red…but I really don’t want to”…I, of course, don’t know that this is how it is…but it sure seems that way

Now that it's over, I think we should all take the high road with all of this. There was a lot of good that came from their time in Lexington. 6 Final Fours and a National Championship are all good. 8 Elite 8s. I wish them well. I hope Cal finds a way to regain his mojo, except for when they play UK, of course.

Edit: pardon my brain fart here. It was 4 Final Fours and 7 Elite Eights.

Last edited:
What a weird situation. Probably the weirdest coaching change in college basketball history…”im gonna leave…but I really don’t want to…I’m gonna coach at Arkansas…but I really don’t want to….im gonna wear red…but I really don’t want to”…I, of course, don’t know that this is how it is…but it sure seems that way

Yes, I keep seeing people saying he was using Arky as a bargaining chip. That doesn't make sense. He had a lifetime deal and wasn't in a position to try and get more after another 1st round loss,

I maintain that this ended just like Tubby - Barnhart told him to get better assistants and instead he left.

Last edited:
Cal and Ellen are rich just tell Arkansas your happy now and walk away. There's a chance you can coach elsewhere later. No need to rush away just to save face, you can make your money later at another school and it doesn't have to be Arkansas.

Reactions: newyorkmets