ADVERTISEMENT

Best way to get into IT/Programming without a degree?

RunninRichie

All-American
Sep 5, 2019
Looking to get into an IT or programming position. I'm in my early 20s and looking for a change in career. HVAC work is just boring to me. Any good tips or advice?

Reactions: chroix
Buy a subscription to Udemy or Code Academy, and start from there. It will have to be self taught to get into this field, and you're going to have to likely start at the bottom, which is about $40-50k/year working Helpdesk/IT Support. You likely can't skip this stage, so you need to decide if that's a do-able for you for a few years. You'll also need to decide what to focus on. Cloud? On-prem infrastructure? Coding? Windows or Linux? Project Management? Databases? There's a lot of routes to go.

It's a great career overall, lots of flexibility, great pay and it's only going to grow. The downsides are that it gets tiring having everyone in a company pulling you in all sorts of different directions. I also think it should pay more, but because the IT Department is seen as a "cost" department, we seem to get lesser pay than our counterparts. For instance, a Senior Cloud Architect who works on the business side of my company, makes a good 15-20% more than a Senior Cloud Architect in the IT Department.

As someone who worked with many IT Support staff... interviewing them, training them, etc.. Probably the best skill to have at this stage is Customer Support skills. I don't need my staff to have the all the answers and I also don't need the smartest person in the room (those types are usually a pain to deal with).. give me the person who can make the customer happy, even if they have to say something like "I'm not sure how to fix this, but let me work on it and I'll keep you posted". Be friendly, helpful, pleasant and humble.. that goes so much further than simply being an expert know-it-all.