ADVERTISEMENT

Random: Is military pay taxed?

SosaUK1987

Freshman
Jul 19, 2023
I was wondering about troops stationed in California compared to Alabama or wherever. Thanks.

They do but I think it’s more complicated than us civilians.
their pay is taxed federally. State tax is not determined by where you are stationed. Each solider has a state he has declared and he is taxed by that state's rate regardless of what state he is living in. For example, I was a TX resident and never paid state tax wherever I was stationed.

Yes, my pay was taxed when I served in the Air Force such as Social Security & Medicare taken out. State taxes are based on your home of record which was Tennessee for me at the time. If you are stationed for example at Travis Air Force Base in California but your home of record is in another state, you still pay home of record state's taxes. Even if you have an apartment in CA or live in base housing. Active Duty military pay is exempt in Kentucky & TN. Not exempt from federal taxes. There are combat zone tax exclusions if you are deployed. If you re-enlist in a combat zone, SRB selective re-enlistment bonus, then any bonuses you may get would be tax free if you meet the criteria.

Last edited:
Reactions: SosaUK1987
Yes, my pay was taxed when I served in the Air Force such as Social Security & Medicare taken out. State taxes are based on your home of record which was Tennessee for me at the time. If you are stationed for example at Travis Air Force Base in California but your home of record is in another state, you still pay home of record state's taxes. Even if you have an apartment in CA or live in base housing. Active Duty military pay is exempt in Kentucky & TN. Not exempt from federal taxes. There are combat zone tax exclusions if you are deployed. If you re-enlist in a combat zone, SRB selective re-enlistment bonus, then any bonuses you may get would be tax free if you meet the criteria.