ADVERTISEMENT

When will we learn?...another avoidable tragedy

Kampus Korner

All-American
Mar 23, 2007
Saratoga, New York
After UK and Murray State began their game, fellow members of Big Blue Nation suffered a clearly avoidable tragedy. An 18 year old UK freshman, who was driving while intoxicated, hit and critically injured a 4 year old boy. I surely hope this child makes a full recovery for his sake, the sake of his family and the sake of the 18 year old driver who hit him.

I don’t like to preach about not drinking and driving but I will take this opportunity to do so. A drunk driver takes someone’s life in the United States every 50 minutes. A drunk driver causes someone physical injury every two minutes in the United States. Injuries and deaths caused by drunk drivers are one of the few human catastrophes which are entirely preventable.

How do I know these statistics about drunk driving? I have been a drunk driver. I spent 4 days in jail for driving while I was intoxicated. Fortunately, I did not injure or kill anyone or I might be typing this message from a prison law library or I might not have survived a fatal car crash to ever type again. To say going to jail for drunk driving was a “wake up call” is a gross understatement. It was a life changing event.