ADVERTISEMENT

Son joining the Army!

H. Lecter

Freshman
Nov 1, 2012
my son is 19 and told us that he’s not going to continue college for the time being and is joining the Army. I’m an Army veteran myself and am very proud of his decision. I told him I will go with him to talk to recruiter so they don’t screw him around like they did me. I had no one to help me along the way. Any advice for him or me? Do recruiters still lie? What’s the best MOS that translates to the real world?

my son is 19 and told us that he’s not going to continue college for the time being and is joining the Army. I’m an Army veteran myself and am very proud of his decision. I told him I will go with him to talk to recruiter so they don’t screw him around like they did me. I had no one to help me along the way. Any advice for him or me? Do recruiters still lie? What’s the best MOS that translates to the real world?
:americanflag:[thumb2]:americanflag:

Reactions: AustinTXCat

So awesome, man. You're a family of patriots. Love that your son has a lot of maturity and wisdom for 19.

<----- served 20 years regular Army and also worked as a recruiter. I, too, enlisted at 19, soon after dropping out of college.

Couple points. Jobs (MOS) are not assigned/chosen by an individual recruiter, but rather a counselor at the Military Entrance Processing Station (MEPS). Unfortunately, recruiters take blame or credit for success and/or failure after an applicant enlists. Everybody blames the recruiter. U.S. Army Recruiters (USAREC) are merely first-line representatives to the civilian population.