ADVERTISEMENT

Random - Seeking Your Advice

Apr 24, 2022
Going to be assistant coaching for my former high school's basketball team. It is my first time ever, any advice/tips?

house.gif

Reactions: BrickandMortar
Going to be assistant coaching for my former high school's basketball team. It is my first time ever, any advice/tips?
As a former coach who traveled to countless clinics to learn, a college coach told me this over lunch; "I don't know the key to success but the key to failure is trying to please everyone".
First day meeting with players/parents, tell them up front not to ask you any questions they are afraid of the answer.
Good luck

@BrickandMortar
I've been coaching youth and HS football for the last 10 years or so.
1. It is a second full-time job
2. Half the parents will love you, the other half will hate you.
3. It is easier to be a hard ass and lighten up, than being too soft and trying to be more hard.
4. It will be the some of best and worst times of your life.
5. Even on a bad day... your kids will put you in a good mood
6. Even on a great day... the parents will put you in a bad mood
7. If you "get it", you will love it... and always want to be a part of it

Good luck

Know what assets your team has. There are 3 -- speed, size, skill.
It is hard to win if you only have one of those.
You can make a reasonable strategy if you have two of those.
Having all three is rare.

If you have:
speed/skill -- run-and-gun
speed/size -- trap and defense-minded
size/skill -- play slow-and-low

There is a 4th element -- smart

Try and get a point guard that you trust and is smart.

Learn to say "GOOOOOOO" and "RUNNNNN" I kid.
@BrickandMortar
3. It is easier to be a hard ass and lighten up, than being too soft and trying to be more hard.

Good luck