ADVERTISEMENT

Penny: No better OAD coaches than me and Mike Miller

Actually, now that I think about it, he may be right.

There's no one better to coach OAD players than Penny because he typically bails for the next gig soon after. He was a middle school coach while some of these guys were in high school. Put your lottery ticket in his hands just because he was good in the 90s.

That is, if Chris Mullin doesn't offer you first.

I don't blame the dude. He's doing exactly what he should do. He needs recruits. He's speaking directly to them. Now let's see if he can convert the cockiness into top-level 5-start talent. I think he will. At least to begin with.

Reactions: Elijah55
What do you expect him to say?
"If you think you might be a OAD, you shouldn't come play for me since I have no college coaching experience."

Reactions: Mossip
I anticipate someone's village getting burned down soon.

I also predict series with Memphis in the works.

The best at coaching O&D’s... yet hasn’t coached a one and done ? Unless middle school kids count?

It’s grest to have confidence but Penny and Memphis fans in general need to remember they have proven NOTHING yet. Absolutely nothing.

UM fans and even Penny himself is acting like he’s Lebron or KD lol...

Slow the roll kid

I had posted in the Wiseman thread that this has been his mojo.
Penny has good relationships and connections. But he has to overcome some significant resume shortcomings. So, he is falling back on his nba experience (and that of Miller) to make a case that he is as capable — if not more — as anyone in moving kids to the league.
It is a battle that’s been brought to him on the trail, and he has been super aggressive - maybe absurdly so, in this tweet - in counter acting.
His confidence has resonated with some players, including wiseman.

Well... I wouldn’t have expected him to say he couldn’t coach one and dones. To say that none are better is kind of hilarious though.

Reactions: 59coop