ADVERTISEMENT

New Stadium Update

Maybe I'm missing the point here, but why the area for tarp storage if it's an all turf field?

I really don't have an answer. The mound will not be turf. So, maybe the tarp will be for the mound only.

They might still cover the field in order to make sure it doesn't pool up. Also, the mound and sometimes the batters box are dirt so you'd at least have to cover those.

And maybe it gives them the option to go back to grass in the future.

I wish there were some bleacher seating in the outfield corners. Part of the thrill of a ball game is for a youngster to get a chance to get a homerun ball.

Reactions: Big_Blue_1018
Noticed that study was done in December of 2012. I have zero knowledge of construction projects of this size, but would that be the plan in place or would another rendering be done? I'm assuming if a new rendering was done it wouldn't defer much in regards to the capacity/size of the stadium due to the figures gathered being based around a stadium of that character or size.

I would be overjoyed just to get a new stadium, but I think 4,500 would be a little on the small side for the long term growth and support for the program. I feel that a minimum of 6,000 seats would be needed, as I believe support will grow tremendously once the baseball stadium is more accessible and modernized for the fans.

As mentioned above, it doesn't necessarily have to be chair back seats (would be nice), but expanding down a baseline and creating some out field bleacher seating would be a great addition to that rendering. Keep the berm seating on one baseline as well and maybe even do an outfield berm. Also, a party deck type area in the outfield has always been popular with the younger crowd at CHS and would be another addition worth considering.