ADVERTISEMENT

Favorite (and least favorite) newspaper comics

J_Dee

Junior
Mar 21, 2008
I read the comics in the local paper and sometimes the LHL about every day until I was 17 (after I graduated high school, I never subscribed to the papers like my parents and grandparent did).

The Far Side, Garfield, Calvin and Hobbes, and Bloom County/Outland are my favorites. I have all of the Bloom County collections.

Anybody else used to read 'em (or still in the habit)?

Fn9preaXoAExXbO

I need this shirt.

ssrco,slim_fit_t_shirt,mens,fafafa:ca443f4786,front,square_product,600x600.jpg

edit: oh god... I just realized that if I wore that, kids today would probably look at me like I looked at hippies who wore Ziggy shirts in the '80s. :(

Last edited:
The Far Side is the best. Calvin and Hobbes a close second.

Family Circus was/is absolute shlock.

Haven’t looked at the comics (or a newspaper, for that matter) in a few years. Have the parents in For Better or For Worse divorced or died yet?

Far Side
Calvin and Hobbes
Dilbert (having worked in a cubicle farm, it's hilarious and too true)
Bloom County

Least
Family Circus
Blonde
Cathy
And many others

Reactions: entropy13 and J_Dee
I've never seen Pickles but I'll check it out.

I'm in an Ernie Bushmiller Nancy fan group on Twitter.

Foj28k0X0AIyDtG

And yeah I agree with yinz that The Family Circus sucks, but the Dysfunctional Family Circus is awesome. XD

6d78e0ebc451a15a239a54d3e8c87f0c.jpg

153_1_.jpg

• Haha
Reactions: JDHoss
Bloom County/Outland
The Far Side
Calvin and Hobbes

In that order. Later on, could definitely add Dilbert to that list, though I don't think it overlapped time-wise. I still have a Dilbert desk calendar each year; helps keep me (mostly) sane. Everything else was mostly trash.

This particular Far Side cartoon has stuck with me for some reason.
48801c323935e8577223f99de5980e17--pink-guns-cartoon-jokes.jpg

Reactions: J_Dee