ADVERTISEMENT

Arkansas just bought a 1980 Ford Pinto with a new paint job and spinner rims...

struggler

Sophomore
Jan 23, 2013
Look - I get SOME of the concern over Pope - not my first choice - but I am 100% in support and happy the used car salesman is gone.

Cal was flash, bluster, name dropping, NBA/agent connections, marketing even sometimes excitement. He was also arrogant, stubborn, failing/in denial, limited in coaching ability (so limited in thought needs to take is staff with him vs build something new), resentful of the fans, could not take accountability or criticism, an empty suit... a VERY toxic guy who left a VERY toxic situation of his making. Thus the shiny paint job and flashy accessories yet still at the heart a used Ford Pinto.

I am still learning about Pope as a coach - watched his BYU teams play from time to time, and honestly was always impressed. He CAN coach and knows basketball. For the Pitino fans - he is from that vein of play. He will not be flashy - but I imagine he will be steady, more straight-forward and actually out-coach others in some games VS being made the punk for the UNC-W's and Oakland's of basketball. He will work to win for UK.

Honestly - who had Danny Hurley on their bingo card 3 years ago? Likely no one as his results were very avg. (look at his record). Last two seasons - sure and maybe it took him that long to figure it out and kudos to his success.

Point is - let's please don't fall for thinking another flashy name = success. Pope is going to do well. Maybe without the flashy names, the 5 stars top to bottom... but there is a lot to be said for a well coached, non-toxic, players who SHOULD play DO play, BBN supported team. I am in until proven otherwise. BBN bigger than any coach or personality - let's let it show.

Last edited:
img_5495_0.jpg