ADVERTISEMENT

Pickleball

JonathanW

All-American
Jan 3, 2003
Anyone here play?
Anyone been rated or have guess for their rating? I'm guessing I'm maybe a 3.5 or 3.25.
Good variety on skill levels, ages, gender.
It has become big here in the Triangle (Raleigh/Durham/Cary/Chapel Hill).
I started playing w/ my 16yo son last fall. Then this spring we started playing some doubles, and now I even go to park and play couple times a week on my own. Park is packed until closes at 10pm every night (6 courts, 24 playing, with probably that many waiting for a court, and that's just 1 park).

I don't personally understand the appeal but I'm glad it's getting an otherwise sedentary population up and moving.

Reactions: kyeric
As a former tennis player with a bum shoulder, pickle ball is freaking awesome. Got my kids playing it and they love it as well.

My dad plays 3-4 times a week going on 3 years now. That and some simple diet changes and hes down like 80 lbs.

He has always been out and about- but riding in a golf cart a few days a week wasnt nearly as much exercise as he always claimed it was.

Reactions: augustaky1
Never even heard of it until we moved to CO 6 years ago. HUGE in CO. I play tennis and I don't get pickleball at all. Looks pretty tame/lame to me but what do I know? When my knees and shoulders give out from playing tennis, I might pick up the game as there is way less running but, for now, I'll hard pass. Although, I personally know of several 75+ YO gentlemen who still play USTA leagues 2-3X per week. So, it may be a while before I consider playing pickleball.

Word of warning: know your audience before you ask if anyone wants to play pickleball. It may not be the activity you're suggesting if in the wrong audience. :)

pickle-1676298231.png

Play a lot of tennis with my 13yo son who is a pretty good player. He and I both held out on Pickleball as it’s not the same as tennis, for old people etc.