ADVERTISEMENT

Kenpom Season Prediction- Kentucky

KenPom and other statistically based rankings are meaningless before the season starts, or even very early in the season (before Dec). There just isn’t any or enough data for them. Therefore they rely upon subjective ASSUMPTIONS. Not objective data.
And I should know, as I am a Statistician, and even created a statistical computer ranking system for college basketball about 20 years ago.

KenPom and other statistically based rankings are meaningless before the season starts, or even very early in the season (before Dec). There just isn’t any or enough data for them. Therefore they rely upon subjective ASSUMPTIONS. Not objective data.
And I should know, as I am a Statistician, and even created a statistical computer ranking system for college basketball about 20 years ago.
Assuming that's about a third or so of the season in, do you know what sort of analyses they do to take into account the low sample size? We don't get into the sweet spot of 30 minimum data points until the season is basically over.

What does KenPom have for Arky? I'll wait.

I think Kentucky will win 21-25 games at best

At worst 19-21 games imo

Yeah i think anyone making these rankings and predictions are just being reserved. A wait-and-see approach..

Which is still funny, because this sort of thing only applies to UK. Any other new coach just gets the benefit of the doubt it seems. Scheyer, Hubert Davis... even BYUs first time coach gets more respect than Pope at UK lol.

It's pretty clear that the directive from ESPN and the NCAA is that they don't want UK winning.. it's not one of their academia programs, and it's not Duke or UNC or Kansas. Therefore we're the biggest threat.

Last edited:
I know that it's hard to judge success by one exhibition game, but that team I watched the other night is impressive. Scoring 123 against ether would have been impressive. And they made it look effortless. KenPom is a joke.
This and so much more.