ADVERTISEMENT

Breaking: Amari Williams will remain committed to UK

What was the reason for his possible exit? Agent trying to shop for more NIL? Not happy with adding Garrison?

Reactions: NociHTTP
If he left i couldnt see too many teams wanting a player like that anyways
Agreed. It would be an unwise decision, in my opinion. If I'm a coach looking at a guy who had already left 2 schools (Drexel and UK) for what? Money, playing time, NBA exposure? And why? Because his friend didn't sign or he's afraid of competition? It's not a good look, as I said last night.

But I have a feeling I know how that conversation went with Pope, who is a smart guy and has lived long enough and played enough and coached enough to know these things, he likely told Williams that UK is gonna be his best opportunity for everything he's hoping to accomplish, and Pope would be right about that. He probably also suggested that making a knee-jerk kind of decision is often not a wise choice. Competition is gonna be everywhere, especially in the NBA. So, if he wants to improve, get stronger, and really prepare for the NBA, this team and coaching staff is gonna get him there. Keep a good attitude, work hard every day, and watch it happen.

For my part, I'm glad he's still with us. He's gonna be a big part of this team.

Last edited:
No. Must have been something to it if Pope went to visit him.
That's what I was thinking as well. The way that story came out seemed to me to be legit. I was just hoping it was overblown, but it seemed to me it was a matter of him having some second thoughts because his friend didn't sign and maybe also because we signed Brandon Garrison instead. There was something to it, even if we don't know all of the details.