ADVERTISEMENT

Alec Baldwin to be charged with involuntary manslaughter

The Screen Actors Guild has guidelines for gun safety. The number one rule is never point it at anyone. It suggests the actor has final and ultimate responsibility for checking a weapon. It also suggests if an actor is uncomfortable, he should ask for more training. There should have been expectations from him as an actor, the producer and finally just as a human handling a weapon.
ESPECIALLY, after two earlier, accidental discharges on set throughout the week -- everyone had "two" freebies, and still squandered the learning moment...

My only thought about this is as a gun owner, I would never dream of taking another person's word on the status of a gun I was handed no matter what their credibility. I would inspect the cylinder or magazine, and the chamber myself to make sure it was empty or if was intended to fire blanks, examine the round to make sure it was a blank.

I'm not a lawyer so I can say that his failure to do so makes him guilty of negligent manslaughter but it sort of points in that direction.

What I’ve read - I know take it for what it’s worth - is the armorer wasn’t on set when the gun was handed to Baldwin - an AD handed to him and called “cold gun” without checking himself (this is person who took a deal already) and Baldwin (like every & any other actor) had the responsibility to check if the gun was indeed “cold” and he did not check - accident or not doesn’t matter in manslaughter case like this, if he was negligent in his responsibility then that is a crime