ADVERTISEMENT

Totaling making this up... but HOW I might recruit against Kentucky

BlueNotes

All-SEC
Dec 10, 2005
If I was a Coach and a player was down to my school "North East West Southern State" and UK.... this is how I would make the pitch..

1. It's not about playing time - you are a stud athlete and the pros already know what you are capable of - you don't have to play 40 minutes to make a name for yourself. With that... I agree totally with what Kentucky is doing. Playing time is not relevant to the discussion - great players get on the floor.

2. However, its a question about "coaching". If there is an hour of practice that is allowed by the NCAA, the real question is "how much coaching time will you get to become a better player?" Do you want to go to a school where you have to compete for the coach's time? Take that hour of practice time for a coach and then divide it by 6 players or 10 players. Which players do you think will get better coaching.

3. We don't believe in "put them on the court and let them make plays" - we believe in "develop them in practice so they will make better plays". Superior talent doesn't win games - you saw that with Kentucky this year. No one will argue they had they had the most talent - so why didn't they win? At the end of the game - they were individuals not a team. At NEWS State you will be "coached" to become a better player. And that coaching will carry you throughout the balance of your career

In summary, you can be a part of a system at UK, and get your 10 minutes of coaching a week, or at NEWS State you can be a player and get the full attention of our coaching staff!