ADVERTISEMENT

Favorite Sports Bars

Not sure what defines a sports bar. Half the restaurants I go in have multiple TV's showing sports. Is Friday's a sports bar?

Not sure what defines a sports bar. Half the restaurants I go in have multiple TV's showing sports. Is Friday's a sports bar?

Had this discussion with friends the other day. Normally, lots of TVs = sports bar. But we were in a bar like this and they *clearly* did not want the sports crowd. DIdn't have other games, wouldn't change the channel, etc.

Almost any bar these days will have TVs, especially with the advent of flat screens and HD, making it easier to manage and cover your bases.

.. but if you don't offer Sunday specials and/or house a contingency of sports fans, you're not a sports bar.

Hard to beat a choco-mint Clif Builder's bar.
5ca398f8-336f-4e73-9f96-72b60ec7ab65_1.516bf5c7e8a02029e18daea14aa58bdf.jpeg

The Piggery Irving Park Chicago. South of Wrigley so more of a regular crowd.I Am still learning Lexington.

If they play music, as opposed to turning the sound up on the premier game, it’s automatically NOT a sports bar.

The Double Dogs in Lexington is pretty cool too. Almost overwhelming with the TVs when there are lots of sports going on at the same time.

Roosters is nice and on Sundays they'll ask you what games you want to watch and seat you accordingly.
Lets try the north side. How about The Backstreatch Bar and Grill in Hi Acres shopping center. Better known as Bryan Station Rd..

My favorite sports bar is a place called Junior's in Albany New York. I spend the first few days of the tournament there. Very local feel, but they keep it pretty nice and updated.

The NCAAT has one of their opening sites in Albany. Highly doubtful that Kentucky lands there, but in case any big college ball fans make the trip there to watch some games.. Junior's is a must-stop, only a mile or two from the Times Union Center.