ADVERTISEMENT

Another Coach Opts Out of Bowl Game

This is killing the sport. “Me first” society shaking my head.

Going to make this a running thread of coaches opting out.
I can’t say I like it but with the early signing period I can understand why a newly hired coach would prefer to focus on getting his first signing class squared away rather than his former employer’s bowl game.

This is killing the sport. “Me first” society shaking my head. NIL, transfer portal, and stuff like this will be the end of college football.

Orange is a major accomplishment, I’d probably be okay with skipping the lower tier bowls. If we make NY6 or Playoffs I doubt I could leave my team. But I was raised not to ever leave my guys hanging when I played. And as a coach I would feel the same assuming they want me to coach.

I can’t say I like it but with the early signing period I can understand why a newly hired coach would prefer to focus on getting his first signing class squared away rather than his former employer’s bowl game.
They did it before early signing day though

Bowls don't matter any more, especially with the 12 team playoff on its way, just like continuity in a coaching staff, facilities, and "culture" being way over rated when it comes to recruiting with the implementation of NIL, and its never going back to the old wayyy.... the game has changed, whether you like it or not, im not a fan of all the changes but it is what it is, get used to it

Reactions: Justwantadecentteam
It’s Huepal’s offense. He will just call the plays. Can’t blame the guy for wanting to get to work with his team. He will be judged by what he does next year not how Tenn fairs in the Orange Bowl

Reactions: john4uk and Cat06
Btw, this is all sarcasm.

I wanted to highlight how we get mad at unpaid players for doing this but rarely ever made an issue for coaches doing it. Call a spade a spade. If one is “quitting on the team” then so is the other.

• Love
Reactions: rudd1 and The-Hack