ADVERTISEMENT

Anyone Have A 3D Printer?

KyCatFan

All-American
May 7, 2002
Getting one for Christmas to mess around with a little fabrication. Going to use it for various projects. Just getting a starter one for now to see how it goes. This is the one I picked that is a good price with decent features for a beginner.

dhDRcfL.jpg

I'd enjoy talking to you about this. It's something I've been mulling over for a bit, for various reasons, but primarily because there are many applications for one, in a couple of hobbies I'm in to.

I'm a newb in this area, but I have an IT/coding background.

I'm going to start by trying to do mini figures for my son. He's into DnD type games with his friends. For me, I always wanted to fabricate movie props like helmets and weapons from Star Wars/Marvel characters. Not really for Cosplay but just for fun.

I'd also like to learn how to do 3d modeling to use with it to make some of my own inventions/creations. I'm not sure how hard that is to learn. I'll bring this thread back up once I get it and set it up. There are tons of YouTube videos on 3d printing to whet your whistle. I've been watching a bunch of them to know what to expect.

Totally worth getting a 3D printer, but one that is reliable. I had an expensivo one at work in 2005 time frame. It was awesome but needed 10k in servicing a year. The costs for prototyping outstripped sending designs out to a professional shop